ESPANYOL VS FC BARCELONA – Copa del Rey : Match preview , Predicted line-ups.

By Ashwin Ponnusamy

October 15, 2018

 

            ESPANYOL VS FC BARCELONA

 

The First Barcelona Derby of the year to be kick-started at the quarterfinals of Copa del Rey.

VENUE: RCDE Stadium, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.

COMPETITION / ROUND: Copa del Rey quarterfinals, 1st leg.

DATE / TIME: Wednesday, January 17, 2018, 21:00 CET/WAT (Barcelona/Nigeria), 20:00 GMT (UK), 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST (USA), 01:30 IST (India, next day).

INJURIES:

BARCELONA: Philippe Coutinho, Arda Turan, Ousmane Dembele, Paco Alcacer, Samuel Umtiti, Gerard Deulofeu, Javier Mascherano (doubtful), Andres Iniesta (doubtful)

ESPANYOL: Adrian Lopez, Pablo Piatti, Sergio Garcia, Jario Morillo (doubtful).

The first Barcelona derby of the year is going to kick start with the first leg of the quarter finals of Copa del Rey at the RCDE stadium. This fixture in La Liga may not be that exciting but at this stage of Copa del Rey its going to be absolutely thrilling and exciting to play against your local rival. The home side would be so optimistic to upset the favorites with the home advantage. FC Barcelona would love to go home with a few away goal advantage. We won’t be surprised to see Valverde rotate his squad as we saw in the first leg fixture against Celta Vigo. Dembele and Iniesta being injured on the midfield would possibly get Andre Gomes and Denis Suarez into the starting 11. Rafinha returns from a long-term injury and has been included in the squad. He may possibly get few minutes in the second half. Its really going to be an exciting 180 minutes of a clash between the local rivals.

POSSIBLE LINE-UPS
FC BARCELONA (4-4-2)

Cillessen; Semedo, Piqué, Vermaelen, Digne; Rakitic, Busquets, Paulinho , Andre Gomes , Suarez , Messi .

Espanyol (4-2-3-1)

Di. López; J.López, Naldo, Da. López, Aarón; Víctor, Granero; Gerard, Darder, Piatti; Léo Baptistao.
PREDICTION :

FC Barcelona 2 – 1 Espanyol.

 

Photo Courtesy: The Irish Times

 

Tags: ,

About Ashwin Ponnusamy

4 thoughts on “ESPANYOL VS FC BARCELONA – Copa del Rey : Match preview , Predicted line-ups.

  1. I simply want to say I am just beginner to blogs and actually enjoyed you’re web-site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You amazingly have fabulous posts. Thanks for sharing your website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *